Sunday, November 30, 2008

An iPod nano, a good gift suggestion on Christmas!


Christmas is just around the corner and what a better way to make your children happy is to give them a surprise this holiday season. Time of sharing and giving gifts now to your loved ones. And so, I am thinking of a new iPod nano mp3 and video player for my son Chuck. He'll appreciate it I am sure because he is a music enthusiast and he needs this when he's practicing for a gig. Sleek nano iPod comes in different brilliant colors like black, silver, white, orange, purple, yellow, green and pink. This portable media player becomes most saleable when it first came out in the market and still is making waves because it's very handy, very sleek and aside from music it has pre-installed games you can play to pass away time.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Goofing off a little sometimes won't hurt...

(Puyo-chan in the picture, American Short-hair,
old and grumpy...(pasaway like me)...but she's so lovely)

After a week of being so sickly and flat on bed...I've gather so much energy after that week-long hiatus. Now, I have so much energy that I go bounding out of bed in the morning kahit pwede namang gumising later na lang. It's a routine already. My biological clock wakes me up at 4...do everything I see in the house that needs to get noticed, like cleaning again the sink, sweep the floor, then mop it with Lysol with Crisp Berry scent...to eliminates odor and disinfect...if not we'll stink because we have additional members of the brood here who pee and poo in her little corner of the house. I am not to complain since we all love these two pets at home. They need care and we all give them what they deserve. I cannot imagine putting them inside the cage or sending them out in the garage to sleep...my oh my. Cleaning chores for me is something to be enjoyed. I just cannot put it off my system but I guess sometimes I overdo it. I can't help it...I'm so full of pep that I tend to overtax myself. At ayun ang ending...sidelined for a week, with BP shooting up making my headache throbs til I can't bear the pain but to sleep the day away. Most of the time I denied myself some leeway to rest...take my time to sit and relax...

Monday, November 24, 2008

Hitting plateaus while on diet!

Don't cheat, just curb!


When you're dieting too rigidly and quite enormously...so to say, hitting plateaus are just possible believe me. Just don't fret!
I used to torture myself from cutting carbo's & calorie intake while stuffing more on bananas or more affordable fruits available in the market. Or better if none, I do water therapy or say even juice like iced tea or if we have budget to spend on grafefruit which is a lot better.
But there were times that we were forced to indulge or binge when food is just right on the table. It is easier to make yourself fat and heavy but it is very hard to trim down on the contrary...so why gorged in one flick after the ordeal of staying away from the table?! I'd rather not. When the scale marker hits the higher level ...for me it discourage me more so I just keep my mind salivating but never my mouth to stuff it more than what I think is enough to satisfy my urge or my buds. When am heavier the scale becomes my worst critic, that pesky little pointer...always tend to annoy me...but when am lighter it becomes more friendlier. It is just a piece of metal but for me it pushes me to go on a diet...and it's just so addictive (in fact I brought home a glass digital weighing scale just like in the picture above, mine is more colorful lang) weighing often whether I gain or lose within the day. But don't rely on the scale readings...you might just be hitting plateaus, sometimes because of water retention most likely to appear in women like me, it is our hormones , the culprits. You will just be amazed when you wake up one mornng that you need to change your XL garments to a lesser L or even M size clothing like what happened to me.

It feels great! Another cause for plateaus are cheating. Don't cheat...just curb your intakes. I am now 145.2 out of my old 181 heavy frame...I am now lighter but I hope to trim it to 130-135 next year...happy and sad...that I have to give away all my XL size clothings, luckily I have some mediums now in my closet. For me it is more on health-wise side of it and honestly...for women, it's vanity-wise too. The more you get slim, the more likely you become healthier and perkier too!

PS/ Protect your liver. An ounce of prevention...is better than an ounce of cure? I don't know if I get it right. But those who want to get slimmer, stay away from diet pills. Been there already. I've tried almost every dieting pills with doctor's prescription or just can be bought over the counter. Please don't...the real one to help you is you and yourself alone and your strong determination to achieve that goal. I am speaking from my own experience...just a matter of mind-setting I guess. Believe me, pagnasanay kayo...nothing can make you salivate. :)

Sunday, November 23, 2008

My New Year's resolution...(learn how to say no)

Come to think of it...we all have had in one point of our childhood that we would usually make a long list of resolution about things we wanna improve or resolve with earnest decision or determination. But to our dismay like mine...I would always end up doing it again and again. But somehow I've noticed that as I grew older each year I came to realized that matagal na akong di gumagawa nito. As we grow...we mature and we end up knowing what is best and what is better. For me the best thing I can do for my self-advantage is to know when and how to say NO. Yes...saying NO sometimes is better and the right thing to do in the first place. In the hope to help others sometimes put our patience to test...that would just lead us to greater dilemma. So, I just learned from my past mistakes that I put first my self advantage before taking others into consideration. If it'll just do me no good and will just hurt me, then why say YES. It is of true deeds and values to learn how to help others...but let's be wary how it will help us also in the long run. If it will create only some ripples why do it?! Now for me, the best thing to do is to learn how to say NO. I have this attitude of being so generous...to a fault...this uncommon generosity sometimes would lead others to take advantage of the situation. I have a lot of experience on this matter. Help but don't put yourself into something that can jeopardize you in any way.

There's a lot of ways to help. One is helping an institution. Say like, an orphanage. We can share by giving small things you can afford without emptying your purse. Helping within the bounds of your budget. It is a good sigh of relief to see them smile with a little gifts you share with them. Rather than being used with some who can work naman for themselves. Me, we've been helping some wounded women and children also. That way I am sure that we're not taken advantage or anything. They do not ask for it. We want to do it in our own volition to help. We do it because we want it to happen.

Sharing our blessings to those who are really in need is an act to alleviate other's sufferings and also an act of humanitarianism. That is the true essence of giving and sharing.
Christmas...is just around the corner so let us spare some from our own pocket to do such act of kindness...!

The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.
(Mother Teresa)

Wintry air of Christmas...


It's christmasy na talaga...the wintry cold breeze...and the rush. Everybody seems to be all agog and making time to look for something for their loved ones. This is a time of giving and sharing. Young and oldies share the same feelings.
Last Yuletide season of 2007 was the most emotion-filled Christmas for me. Filled with mixed feelings...that was my saddest because first time I left the house during that special part of the year. They spent it with tears longing for a mother figure who doesn't stop telling you do this and you do that first dearie-commands at home. I am their favorite alarm clock who'd always wake them up in the morning! I am their yaya...their soulmate...their barkada...their master...their alipin forever just like Madge to her children, as how Tack would put it to words. Really...to be away with our children is the worse part of our lives. And that decision lalo pa't Christmas...ay talagang nakakadurog ng puso bilang isang nanay. But anyway, that travel away for three long months that would have been 6 month long dapat ay napadali ang uwi ko. Fighting my gloomy-nanay-side...I was nevertheless enjoyed the trip. And I can truly say that the 3-month long stay there was really awesome. It was really a getaway vacation. And that I cannot forget...a treat...a much needed time to reconcile with everything.

An awesome relaxation indeed to reminisce!

I love flowers!

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Gaining back my equilibrium...


Been flat on my back since Wednesday late late night when I was overpowered by a sudden throbbing headaches. A sure case of my PMS (huh?!) I guess and some eye-straining factors from too much use of the computer and texting too until my eyes' gets smarting already. I couldn't even open my eyes until yesterday. Took a quick bath in the afternoon still in daze of headache hoping that I could make it to the dinner party intended for my bestfriend Jelly because she has just passed the recent board exams...hurray!...but I was just too weak to even dress up for the night. I texted her with my eyes half-closed that I couldn't really make it. She's one of my best true-friends that I can count on. She's a very very good friend...since college days. I fondly call her jellybeans... :)



To you friendship...CONGRATS!
I love you gurl!

PS/I am awfully sorrie if I didn't make it last night to be with you.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Digital Times

The technology today has really become amazingly and dramatically revolutionized compared to our old analog system. The innovation is quite fast and daringly competitive each day. Like that of our handy digital cameras we are now using where we just focus and capture each scene and moments we like to keep unlike before using films and negatives. Now we just have it stored in memory cards and presto, we can easily transfer them in our computers. But how we save it in the computer is really taking us too far. Like me I always make it a habit to download them or save them in my laptop computer for posterity purposes of course and be able to see it or even show it to my friends since laptop is very handy, so I can take it along to gatherings and other hanging out parties. It is also wonderful if we use LCD TV to be able to enjoy viewing them in larger size and in high-definition quality. It's fun and great giving you and your family the chance to keep pictures making the memories alive.

Category: Digital technology

Good girl!


Still up and so enjoying every minute with Mishah. She's now being trained and would you believe it's only on her 3rd day since she got started. The usual training sked, according to the trainer I talked to was only 30 minutes a day. Well Mishah is quite very attentive during her trainings and so she's picking up very easily. She knows now some commands like stay, come, sit and listen..., stop barking and to leave it (alone). I have yet to see her housebreaking and that'll be very very great indeed! I am so ecstatic whenever I see how Mishah understands whatever command she'll hear and do diligently. .. I am really amazed that dog really has capabilities to communicate, and can really understand human language as we also must try to understand dogs behavior as well.

Sunday, November 16, 2008

No perfect crime!


Have you ever heard of that report last few weeks about that ordinary-looking woman who stood in with some armed and mask-wearing bank robber? Bullseye! She didn't know she was captured by the CCTV (closed circuit television)...naku ha...toting long gun aiming at anyone. She was identified from a composite drawing, the police obtained from witnesses and also with the aid of the CCTV. It matched...she's now in the most wanted list. Attah girl! She's got balls... :)

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Bookworm Society!


Am right now engrossed reading Sidney Sheldon's RAGE OF ANGELS...wow grabe...a good read about what else... but very timely, courtroom battles. About David and Goliath in the court profession. I can't even afford to put the book down for awhile. This is my first SS...and I think I will still yearn for more.

PS/ Big thanks to Micco for such a good deed...a friendship that starts with book sharing. I love it! To return the favor I sent him my VITAL SIGNS, by Robin Cook... :)